Rascal Flatts

From Ohio History Central

Rascal Flatts is a trio of country music artists. Two of its members, Gary LeVox and Jay DeMarcus, are second cousins from Columbus, Ohio. The group's third member, Joe Don Rooney, grew up along the Oklahoma-Texas border. The band released its first album in 2000 and has become a very popular group in country music.

Rascal Flatts's hits include These Days, I'm Movin' On, I Melt, Mayberry, and Bless the Broken Road. They have sold more than six million copies of their first three albums. Their debut album sold more than one million copies. Rascal Flatts has received numerous awards, including the 2003 to 2007 Country Music Association Vocal Group of the Year and the Academy of Country Music Top Vocal Group. The group has also headlined three sold-out tours in 2003, 2004, and 2005. Their 2006 tour reached 1,000,000 people in 71 cities.

See Also