Quaternary Period

From Ohio History Central

Until recently, the Cenozoic Era was divided into the Tertiary Period, which include the Paleocene through the Miocene Epochs, and the Quaternary Period, which was divided into the Pleistocene and Holocene. Current terminology divides the Cenozoic into the Paleogene Period, which includes the Paleocene, Eocene, and Oligocene Epochs, and the Neogene Period, which includes the Miocene, Pliocene, Pleistocene, and Holocene. Both Quaternary and Tertiary are terms used in all but the most recent literature.

See Also