File:Ohio State Constitution.jpg

From Ohio History Central
Ohio_State_Constitution.jpg(255 × 400 pixels, file size: 20 KB, MIME type: image/jpeg)

The United States Congress approved an enabling act on April 30, 1802, empowering the Ohio territory to begin the process of becoming a state. Thirty-five delegates were elected on November 1 to form a constitutional convention. Among them were Edward Tiffin, James Sargent, Francis Dunlavy, Bazaleel Wells, Nathaniel Massie, Thomas Worthington, Samuel Huntington, Ephraim Cutler, and Rufus Putnam. The delegates assembled in Chillicothe to write a constitution composed of sections from other state constitutions. This document was approved by Congress on February 10, 1803 and Ohio was admitted as the seventeenth state. The constitution is 19 pages and measures 9" x 14" (22.86 cm x 35.56 cm).


Ohio Historical Society State Archives Series 2674


12/20/2007 15:46


Ohio Secretary of State

(Reusing this file)

See below.

File history

Click on a date/time to view the file as it appeared at that time.

current20:06, 24 April 2013Thumbnail for version as of 20:06, 24 April 2013255 × 400 (20 KB)Maintenance script (Talk)Importing image file
  • You cannot overwrite this file.

The following page links to this file: