From Ohio History Central
This photograph is an elevated view of Ohio Stadium and the campus of Ohio State University along the Olentangy River in Columbus, Ohio, ca. 1940-1949. In the bottom right corner of the image, a train crosses the Olentangy River on a bridge that today carries Woody Hayes Drive. Ohio Stadium was built in 1921-1922 and dedicated on October 21, 1922. Known by fans as "the Horseshoe" or "the Shoe" because of its unique shape, the stadium has undergone some dramatic changes through the years. Due to the demand for more seats, temporary stands were constructed at the south (open) end of the stadium. Originally players played on a grass field, but in 1971, Ohio State installed Astroturf. In 1990, grass returned to Ohio Stadium. During the late 1990s and early 2000s, the Ohio Stadium went under a renovation. The university replaced the temporary stands in the south end of the stadium with permanent ones, closing the open "horseshoe." Skyboxes and a new press box were also added. The field was also lowered more than fourteen feet to make room for additional seating. When the renovation was complete in 2001, the stadium could now officially hold 101,568 fans, making it the third largest stadium in the United States.
Ohio Historical Society SC 1052, AL05153 from the Ohio Stadium, Ohio State University Collection.
(Reusing this file)
Click on a date/time to view the file as it appeared at that time.
|current||19:03, 24 April 2013||450 × 354 (29 KB)||Maintenance script||Importing image file|
- You cannot overwrite this file.
- Edit this file using an external application (See the setup instructions for more information)