File:Map of Ohio drawn by Mary Munson in 1822.jpg

From Ohio History Central
Map_of_Ohio_drawn_by_Mary_Munson_in_1822.jpg(446 × 450 pixels, file size: 46 KB, MIME type: image/jpeg)

Map of Ohio drawn by Mary Munson in 1822 at the age of 13. The Ohio counties as they appeared after the creation of Union County in 1820 are shown. Although the northwestern counties of Allen, Crawford, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Marion, Mercer, Paulding, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca, Van Wert, Williams, and Wood were also created in 1820, they are not depicted on the map. The land in northwestern Ohio was acquired through the Treaty of Maumee Rapids, which was signed on September 29, 1817 and ratified by the United States Senate on January 4, 1819. Munson refers to the treaty in her notation "Count[r]y recently purchased of the Wyandott and other Tribes of Indians." The map measures 13" x 12.25" (33 x 30 cm).


The Ohio Historical Society Map VFM 0051-4, AL05154


9/18/2006 14:52


Mary Munson

(Reusing this file)

See below.

File history

Click on a date/time to view the file as it appeared at that time.

current20:08, 24 April 2013Thumbnail for version as of 20:08, 24 April 2013446 × 450 (46 KB)Maintenance script (Talk)Importing image file
  • You cannot overwrite this file.

The following page links to this file: