Treaty of Fort Stanwix (1784)

1,347 bytes added, 19:54, 30 August 2017
no edit summary
<p>In On October 22, 1784, at Fort Stanwix in present-day Rome, New York, the government of the newly independent United States entered into signed a treaty with the Six Nations of the Iroquois.</p> <p>Following the Confederacy, a confederation of six Iroquoian-speaking American RevolutionIndian tribes, the Confederation Congress needed moneyMohawk, Seneca, Oneida, Cayuga, Onondaga, and Tuscarora Nations, whose homelands spanned western Pennsylvania, Kentucky, West Virginia, and New York. The Articles of Confederation did not permit By signing the government to easily tax its citizens. To raise funds to operate the governmenttreaty, the Confederation Congress hoped Iroquois relinquished their claims to sell land in the Ohio Country to , which was then assumed by the American peopleUnited States federal government. Government officials realized that Ohio's At this time, the American Indians controlled Revolutionary War (1775-1783) left the landnewly founded United States burdened by debt. Before any sales could take placeTo generate revenue, the United States would have federal government hoped to convince assume ownership of “unclaimed” territories, including the American Indians Ohio Country, and sell this land for a profit, as well as to give up compensate military officials for their claims on service in the landwar.</p> <p>The first step Iroquois Confederacy previously assumed possession of lands in this process was the Treaty of Fort Stanwix Ohio Country through their military campaign referred to as the Beaver Wars (17841650-1700). In this treaty, during which they displaced American Indian tribes living in Ohio Country in order to access beaver populations for trade with British and Dutch fur traders. The Confederacy returned these lands to Ohio natives as part of the Six Nations Treaty of Grande Paix, or the Treaty of Great Peace, in 1701. Although some Iroquois agreed groups continued to relinquish all claims live in Ohio, many returned to their homeland in the Ohio CountrySt. Lawrence River region in modern-day New York State. The Six Nations included the TuscarorasIroquois Confederacy later signed another treaty in 1768, also called the MohawksTreaty of Fort Stanwix, through which they relinquished their claims to land south of the OnondagasOhio River in an attempt to quell conflict between native peoples living there, such as the OneidasDelaware, the SenecasSeneca-Cayuga, and the CayugasShawnee Tribes, and encroaching Anglo-American settlers. Few </p><p>In 1783, the Treaty of these groups actually lived in Paris ended the Ohio CountryRevolutionary War, although they all did claim land there. but it failed to address American Indians living in Indian territories within the areas given to the United States as part of the treaty negotiations. Tribes who were native to Ohio Country, including the ShawneesShawnee, the Seneca-Cayuga, the Delawares, and several other tribes Delaware, rejected the treatyTreaty of Fort Stanwix and refused to give up their claims to land in the Ohio Country, arguing that the Iroquois did not have the right to sign off on land what was not theirs. The Ohio Country became , especially the natural resource-rich Ohio River Valley, was a violent place as common battle ground for bloody skirmishes between Anglo-American settlers, emboldened Americans and native peoples over land disputes. Emboldened by the treaty, Anglo-Americans began to arrive in settle the region area in the mid-1780s, and in the process, tensions escalated and Anglo-Americans pushed American Indian tribes off their native lands. </p> 
==See Also==
<div class="seeAlsoText">